FANDOM


Wookieepedia > Wookieepedia:Inquisitorius > Inq/Meeting Seventeen
Hutts-GG11p57
Three of our finest, hard at work.
Inquisition Meeting Times
Americas
UTC-12

Saturday 17th 12:00

UTC-11

Saturday 17th 13:00

UTC-10 (HST)

Saturday 17th 14:00

UTC-9

Saturday 17th 15:00

UTC-8 (PST)

Saturday 17th 16:00

UTC-7 (MST)

Saturday 17th 17:00

UTC-6 (CST)

Saturday 17th 18:00

UTC-5 (EST)

Saturday 17th 19:00

UTC-4 (AST)

Saturday 17th 20:00

UTC-3 (NST)

Saturday 17th 21:00

UTC-2

Saturday 17th 22:00

Europe and Africa
UTC-1

Saturday 17th 23:00

UTC/GMT

Sunday 18th 0:00

UTC+1

Sunday 18th 1:00

UTC+2

Sunday 18th 2:00

Asia and Australasia
UTC+3

Sunday 18th 3:00

UTC+4 (MSK)

Sunday 18th 4:00

UTC+5

Sunday 18th 5:00

UTC+6

Sunday 18th 6:00

UTC+7 (NOVST)

Sunday 18th 7:00

UTC+8 (AWST)

Sunday 18th 8:00

UTC+9 (JST/KST)

Sunday 18th 9:00

UTC+10 (AEST)

Sunday 18th 10:00

UTC+11

Sunday 18th 11:00

UTC+12

Sunday 18th 12:00

"Politicians have no voice in Jedi matters."
―Mace Windu[src]

It's that time of the month, people. It's important that we keep these shindigs on a monthly basis for the continuing health of the Inquisitorius. There was a six-week lapse between Meeting 15 and 16, with March going entirely meeting-less. No more of that.

That being said, we regretfully extend a heartfelt farewell to Greyman and wish him all the best. Hopefully, he'll reconsider and rejoin our ranks. We're light enough as it is. Considering that, I highly recommend that all Inqs make every effort to attend meetings. We can at least pretend these things are compulsory. Real life responsibilities and laziness are all well and good, but we all have a duty here.

So, Meeting Seventeen will take place at 0:00 UTC on Sunday, May 18th, which is 8:00pm Eastern Time on Saturday, May 17th for North America. Punch and pie will be served.

AgendaEdit

Articles to be reviewed (expand as needed)Edit

  • Padmé Amidala - placed on probation last meeting. Vote to strip FA status, or keep
  • Imperial I-class Star Destroyer - placed on probation last meeting. Vote to strip FA status, or keep
  • Kreia - placed on probation last meeting. Vote to strip FA status, or keep
  • Mount Sorrow - briefly discussed last meeting. Article is not 1,000 words.
  • Grievous - some users in IRC, Yrf chief among them, have recently expressed their concern that the article is lacking detailed information, subject matter is too quickly glossed over in a sentence or two, specifically Obsession
  • Malcor Brashin - article should be sourced considering two sources are listed. Should be an easy enough fix for someone knowledgeable
  • Pre-Republic era - article has a few tense and sourcing issues, including succession box. I think Hydro was discussing that the article could be expanded a little bit as well. For anyone ambitious enough, maybe we could even put together an era infobox.
  • Jedi Civil War - requested by Goodwood that we go through to make sure it's still up to snuff
  • Hart-and-Parn Gorra-Fiolla and Teren Rogriss both have redlinks in the intro. :P Unsigned comment by AdmirableAckbar (talk • contribs).
  • Hoth (Jedi Lord) - Incomplete sourcing, speculative statements. BtS is ridiculous. I don't care what we have to say about Drew Karpyshyn or continuity; this article needs some help. Graestan(Talk) 02:19, 11 May 2008 (UTC)
    • Can you clarify "ridiculous" a bit? - Lord Hydronium 08:25, 15 May 2008 (UTC)
      • BtS is fine except for bullet points, which need to go. Graestan(Talk) 04:17, 16 May 2008 (UTC)
        • Bullets are gone. - Lord Hydronium 04:40, 16 May 2008 (UTC)
        • Actually, moved the whole thing out of the BTS to a footnote. - Lord Hydronium 04:47, 16 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Zayne Carrick - Carrick isn't in much better shape than Mr. Hoth. Large portions of article are unsourced, including infobox. References aren't linked. The article as a whole would benefit from a rewrite. Toprawa and Ralltiir 21:08, 11 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Wat Tambor - Missing info from two sources, according to content approaching tag. Use it, or lose it. Toprawa and Ralltiir 01:37, 13 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Isolder - Inline citations in the intro, fragmented intro, improper use of quotes within body text of the P&T section.--Goodwood Redstarbird (Alliance Intelligence) 02:03, 16 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Atris – The BtS is enough to make me gag. The body of the article doesn't seem comprehensive enough to me, though it's been a while since I've played the game. Not sure how much of this article would pass a current nomination on the FAN page. As well, minor stuff like the infobox not being sourced, etc. It'd be appreciated if this could at least be reviewed at the upcoming meeting. Thanks, Greyman@wikiajanitor(Talk) 02:50, 16 May 2008 (UTC)

Agenda items (expand as needed)Edit

  • Nominator-objector relations Recently, the FAN page has seen a spike in negativity between nominators and objectors, which has spilled over into IRC. It's painfully clear that the lines of battle seem to have been drawn: people think users are making ridiculous objections just for the sake of making objections out of personal grudges, and nominators are doing everything they can to resist having to make changes to their work. I recognize my own fault in this and accept responsibility for the things I've said and done, and I apologize. I hope that the others involved can man up, and we can try and bury the hatchet and move on from all of this. As ugly as it may seem, we are all on the same team here, and we need to work together for the sake of the Wook.
  • Inq inactivity This issue isn't going away, people. It seems like since the last meeting that we're doing a little better with our reviewing rate, but there's always room for improvement. With Greyman resigning, that just means we need to step it up that much more. We're losing a consistent and quality reviewer, so let's all do what we can to pick up the resulting slack.
    • Like Toprawa said, this issue has been around for months. There are a few people in the Inq who are doing nothing—and that's not a knock on them, it's the truth. Also, if you're not on Wookieepedia, you can't be Inqing, regardless of whether you'd like to or not. I'd like to say something (albeit minor) at the meeting. Chack Jadson (Talk) 13:59, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Quality reviewing With the previous agenda item in mind, I feel it's important to reiterate what we should all know by now. Reviewing = reading through an article. No one is being called out here individually, but I want to call attention to the fact that while working with Greyman to maintain the status of Mandalore the Ultimate not long ago, I came upon a P&T rife with glaring instances of present tense and far-fetched speculative prose that got the ax, and this was after seven people had already voted for the article. This is a matter of concern for me, and it tells me people are either a) not reading through an article, or b) not doing a good enough job Inqing, or maybe both. Inqing something doesn't mean slapping down a vote and being done with it.
  • Inq consensus to strike an objection Recently, there was a five-Inq consensus vote to strike an outstanding objection on the FAN page. I'm not sure everything was done that could have been done to get in contact with the objector in question to warn him that his time was running out to either handle the issue or strike, and I feel it was handled rashly and with prejudice. I want to discuss exactly what should be done to try and get in contact with an absentee objector in these instances.
  • Keeping the presentation clean Finally, a matter of actual article content. The Inq has enacted measures to outlaw any more than 3 red links in an article, with no red links within the introduction for the sake of clean presentation. I would like to propose a small addition to this red link policy that would extend the practice to infoboxes and templates, such as our battle succession templates. Toprawa and Ralltiir 00:47, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
    • This might be more of a site-wide relevant discussion. Thefourdotelipsis 01:11, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Independent reviews Just want to lock this down and see just how many people want to do it. Also want to lay down some basic groundwork if enough people bite. Thefourdotelipsis 07:23, 15 May 2008 (UTC)

AttendanceEdit

Won't be lazyEdit

  1. Toprawa and Ralltiir 00:47, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  2. Thefourdotelipsis 01:11, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  3. Chack Jadson (Talk) 01:20, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  4. Not that showing up isn't too much work. Also, I call whichever Hutt is fattest. Graestan(Talk) 01:39, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  5. (picks up phone on tray held by nubile young lady in grass skirt) Who is this? Whaddaya want? ...Inq meeting? Dammit, Tope, what part of "on vacation" don't you understand? I—here babe, hold my daiquiri, would ya—Oh, look, fine. I'll be there. Alright? Now don't call me again unless the wiki's burning down. Okay, bye. Yeah. Yeah, g- GoodBYE, Tope. Gonk (Gonk!) 15:12, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
    • I ain't payin' ya to mess around with cocktail waitresses! :P Toprawa and Ralltiir 19:02, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  6. (picks up phone on desk in gloomy office) Professor Fiolli speaking. Oh, Toprawa; pleasant surprise. Inqmoot? Well, I will try. Some previously unforeseen things in real-life are keeping me away at the moment. One second—Peter, my office hours begin at 3 today…I'm just about to head upstairs to teach a class.—Sorry, Tope. I do have to run, though. But, I will try my best to make it. If I can't, I will leave a message with someone. Also, tell Gonk to make certain he brings back some pictures. Master Aban Fiolli {Alpheridies University ComNet} 16:47, 5 May 2008 (UTC)

Showing up is too much workEdit

  1. You have reached the voice mail message of Atarumaster88. He's currently vacationing on some tropical island and can't be bothered. Especially not by Wookieepedia. Please leave a message after the beep. *BEEP!* Atarumaster88 Jedi Order (Talk page) 16:03, 5 May 2008 (UTC)
  2. Aww...nuggets. Cull Tremayne 16:18, 5 May 2008 (UTC)
  3. I must instead make my obligatory sacrifice to the Baseball Gods. Graestan(Talk) 00:15, 7 May 2008 (UTC)
    • Back in business. Graestan(Talk) 00:00, 9 May 2008 (UTC)
      • Actually, no, I think I will refrain from meetings until I get the impression they exist to accomplish more than get individual users' personal ambitions across. I am more than happy to review and vote on articles, as well as to write new ones and even help users learn how to do the same, but these meetings tend to ruin the spirit of my duties as an Inq. If I want to piss and moan all night because two specific people are incapable of backing down or seeking compromise with anything, I'll have my extremely divorced parents over for dinner. Graestan(Talk) 04:21, 16 May 2008 (UTC)

Extraneous crap from people who think their concerns matterEdit

  • As was the one who restored Grievous, I'll see what I can do to get it back up to snuff. Chack Jadson (Talk) 01:20, 4 May 2008 (UTC)
  • Text from Ataru: Best wishes on the Inqmoot, guys (and ladies, but you catch my drift). Give my vote on the FAs up for removal to Gonk. Please don't let the meeting degenerate into a whine-fest about who's being rotten on the WP:FAN page or about how lazy some Inqs are. These issues are as old as the Inq is, and to some extent, you just have to deal with it. Speaking of that, when I get back from vacation, I'm not going to be Inqing everything in sight. I'll do probably a couple articles per week, but I'm also going to be more worried about producing FAs-I have an extensive line-up planned for summer. If that means that you guys remove me from the Inq, well, the door won't be hitting me on the way out. I agree that we should try and contact the objector-there are policies for this sort of thing, and I assumed that the procedure had been followed. Sorry, Imp. I didn't know. Move the MoS issue on redlink to CT, but discuss it if you want. Atarumaster88 Jedi Order (Talk page) 17:44, 5 May 2008 (UTC)

Results and summaryEdit

AttendanceEdit

Notably missing from attendanceEdit

Articles reviewedEdit

  • Padmé Amidala: Strip of FA status.
  • Imperial I-class Star Destroyer: Strip of FA status.
  • Kreia: Remove FA status. (The Inq does not condone stripping Kreia.)
  • Mount Sorrow: Keep FA status because of article quality. It is being considered grandfathered into the word count requirement.
  • Grievous: Probation.
  • Pre-Republic era: Probation.
  • Jedi Civil War: The article is deemed satisfactory for now.
  • Zayne Carrick: Probation.
  • Wat Tambor: Kept on the provision of Four Dot digit extraction.
  • Isolder: Probation.
  • Atris: Probation.

Items discussedEdit

  • Nominator-objector relations: Agreed that civility and professionalism will be the course of action and that all Inqs are going to make a concerted effort to uphold this regardless of past incidents.
  • Inq inactivity: No consensus or change to current policy.
  • Quality reviewing: Inqs should make certain they read the articles before voting on them.
  • Inq consensus to strike an objection: Basically, wikia forms of communication will be used to contact an objector over a stagnant objection. Outside-of-wikia contact does not necessarily have to occur.
  • Keeping the presentation clean: Red-link voting will begin as a Consensus Track vote for the entire community.
  • Independent reviews: Not quite sure, but it looks like nothing really happened except bantering.
  • Increase requirement to six Inq votes: Increase strongly rejected. Voting will remain at five.
  • Add "Nominated by" line to FAN page: Approved. All nominations must now be established in an offset line above the main voting block and do not count as a vote in support of an article.
  • Going beyond the standard copyedit and making some objective changes:
  • Adding to the ranks:
    • Greyman, returned from retirement and will be far better than Michael Jordan in Space Jam.
    • Admirable Ackbar, Ozzel admitted pending acceptance of invitation.
    • Hobbes15 will be contacted regarding "coming out of retirement."
    • Other nominees: Goodwood
  • Lack of punch and pie: Well, we were supposed to have punch and pie. We never got it. Sadness abounded. Someone forgot to go to either Sainsbury's or Kroger and get some. Oh well, Gonk had beer at least.

DisclaimerEdit

At present, no log exists of this meeting. We blame the lack of refreshments. Wait, a meeting log is now available. There still should have been refreshments.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+